What We Do

Energy OutWest, Inc. (EOW) is an independent, nonprofit charitable organization (501c3) devoted to the promotion and advancement of the technical capacity of the region’s energy and environmental services network through education and training in energy conservation, renewable practices, and technologies. Our goal is to have our membership provide quality service to all clients. Every other year Energy OutWest organizes and delivers a regional conference that features the latest technical and organizational advances in the weatherization profession.

EOW also has a very active peer exchange organization directed by a board with representatives from sixteen states (AlaskaArizonaCalifornia, ColoradoIdaho, HawaiiMontana, Nevada, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, Oregon, Utah, Vermont, Virginia and Washington), the Navajo Nation, and the Intertribal Council of Arizona. Through regular meetings, the EOW Board exchanges information, training opportunities, technical manual development, administrative knowledge, and other private and public sector opportunities, in an effort to expand and refine weatherization skills and programs.

The "Magnificent Seven" from the Pacific Northwest say, "We can do this!" after a pressure and dense-pack training session.

Who can you identify in the picture above? Contact Energy OutWest if you can provide current pictures that we can post on the website.

Energy OutWest Weatherization Competition winners.

Who will it be in 2024?

Plaque of competition winners


Energy OutWest as an organization can trace its roots to earlier efforts to gather weatherization professionals from western states in an organization that could advance the practice of weatherization in their region of the US. Prior to Energy OutWest there was Energy Northwest which sponsored several of its own regional weatherization conferences. The Energy OutWest board has planned and delivered weatherization conferences for its regional membership since 2002. Past conferences:

  • 1996 Portland, Oregon
  • 1998 Eugene, Oregon (Energy Northwest)
  • 2000 Boise, Idaho (Energy Northwest)
  • 2002 Spokane, Washington
  • 2004 Sacramento, California
  • 2006 Portland, Oregon
  • 2008 Scottsdale, Arizona
  • 2010 Reno, Nevada
  • 2012 Boise, Idaho
  • 2014, San Diego, California
  • 2013 – Montana, New Mexico, and North Dakota join EOW
  • 2015 – Vermont and New York join EOW
  • 2016 – Spokane, Washington
  • 2018 - Phoenix, Arizona